Up, periscope: some surprising numbers, and a reason to write again

Greetings, Gentle Readers.

My apologies to those who visited this blog during the past several months and found nothing in the way of updates. To make an otherwise long posting short, the obligations of parenting, work and returning to school proved to be too much for me to keep up in addition to maintaining a blog, and after the first couple of weeks of not updating one, it’s easy to let a blog disappear from the radar – which is exactly what happened.

The reason for this posting today, and for subsequent posts, was an automated year-in-review Email I received from the folks at WordPress.

It read as follows:

**

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

 

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 56,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 7 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 18 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 145 posts. There were 19 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 4mb. That’s about 2 pictures per month.

The busiest day of the year was January 31st with 457 views. The most popular post that day was Villains can learn a lot from Murphy’s Combat Laws.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were stumbleupon.com, rpgbloggers.com, dungeonsmaster.com, en.wordpress.com, and roleplayingtips.com.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

3 100 Subjects for tavern chatter April 2009
9 comments
5 Miniature Painting Tutorials April 2009
1 comment

Some of your most popular posts were written before 2010. Your writing has staying power! Consider writing about those topics again.

[Edit: the next couple of paragraphs, describing how this information could be posted to the Athenaeum and how I could access stats in the future, were deleted]

Thanks for flying with WordPress.com in 2010.
We look forward to serving you again in 2011! Happy New Year!

Andy, Joen, Martin, Zé, and Automattic

**

While I don’t know anything about the traffic other RPG Bloggers enjoy, it is important to note that I haven’t posted anything to this blog since Feb. 7 of last year, and the site is still getting between 3,000 and 5,000 hits per month, which I don’t think is too bad for 48 weeks of stagnation. When I was regularly updating the site during 2009, I was hoping for numbers like that and never saw them; but when I stopped writing, more traffic came – the feeling is loosely comparable to what happens to interest in an artist’s work after he’s dead.  

The upshot of all this is twofold: (1) any reports of my death have been exaggerated, and (2) even though it was automated encouragement, the site traffic report made me realize that I miss blogging, and that people are apparently reading Athenaeum content, so I’ll resume posting for those readers who are willing to pardon my unexplained absence. I’ll begin with weekly updates, so that I don’t find myself in the same place I was when I discontinued posting – burning myself out with trying to reach a self-imposed expectation of writing between 800 and 1,000 words per day.

Please allow me to express my heartfelt thanks to those readers who visited the site during the past several months. Your encouragement and support are beyond price.

Alric

4 comments on “Up, periscope: some surprising numbers, and a reason to write again

  1. Rafa says:

    Hello. I’m one of those readers who came regularly to your blog -even without updates.
    One point you must consider is that your blog archive, all your posts until now are interesting enough to take it despite the posting date.

    So I’m glad, really glad about your returning and that you have a while to write here.

    (And sorry for my horrible English).

  2. Alric says:

    Thanks for your loyalty, Rafa. I deeply appreciate it.

  3. ClefJ says:

    Good to hear sir! Difficulties understood, just glad to see you back.

Leave a Reply

