How players can help streamline the D&D play experience

A particularly astute observation made in the fourth edition D&D Dungeon Master’s Guide is the mandate to “get to the fun” as quickly as possible. It is not surprising to find the mandate in that volume, as most of the time-wasting in a typical Dungeons & Dragons session is linked to insufficient preparation on the part of the dungeon master.

It is a pity, though, that the mandate to get to the fun doesn’t also appear in the Player’s Handbook, since there are numerous things players can do to streamline play and help everyone else to enjoy the game. 

Consider these thoughts on players helping to improve the game:

Punctuality is more than a courtesy. Some players don’t see arriving early enough for the game to start on time as important. This author submits that it is, even if your group allows for a period of socializing before the game starts; players who don’t arrive in time for socializing often try to catch up with their group-mates during the game, which can detract from play.

Other players attend sporadically, placing others in the unenviable place of running characters for missing players. When chronically absent players choose to return to the game, they often need extensive briefing to become re-involved, wasting still more time.

Obviously, real-life issues can affect punctuality and attendance, and this posting is not a suggestion that dungeon masters should be draconic in their attendance policies. This posting is, however, a reminder to players that other people rely upon their attendance and participation, and absence or tardiness can affect how well those others enjoy the game.

Player note-taking helps everyone stay in character.The importance of this consideration can vary between groups. Some groups operate with skeletal campaign backgrounds, needing little more than character names and the slightest excuse to sally forth to adventure; if this style of play describes your group – and there is no condemnation here if it does – note-taking probably isn’t necessary. If the dungeon master has presented a setting rich in political and cultural detail, filled with intrigue and complex motives for villainous action, note-taking is essential; if a DM is forced to spend ten minutes explaining – again – what the difference is between the Quarixian Royal Scouts infiltrating the region and Xanian Greenwardens sworn to stop them, the game has been interrupted unnecessarily. This author submits to players that, if your DMs care enough about your games to provide you with that level of detail, you may consider caring enough to write down and learn the most important information so your DMs won’t need to spend time presenting it a second time.

Most importantly, make lists – as many lists as you can think of. This suggestion may sound strange, but list-making is one of the most effective time-savers in the role-playing game hobby. In many ways, this idea is linked to the concept of the SOP, or standard operating procedure, so prevalent in small unit military operations. The motivation behind an SOP is to standardize certain types of routine activities, usually to improve safety or maximize efficiency in a given environment.

Applied to a D&D game, an SOP could be created for such activities as typical party marching orders for corridors of different widths: simple diagrams indicating who is in the front and second ranks, who occupies the flanks and who guards the party’s rear. A standard single-file marching order is also useful. With these determinations made in advance, players can streamline the game without repeating themselves. For example, every time the party enters a five-foot-wide corridor, everyone can assume that the predetermined marching order applies, unless the party specifically states otherwise. Standard operating procedures can also be drafted for routine events like opening doors, looking through windows, crossing pits and other spans, and even retreating from battle.

Not only do these SOP documents streamline play, they also help protect players. For example, if the party’s door-opening SOP includes the rogue checking for traps, it can be assumed that the rogue is checking for traps every time that the party decides to open a door, unless specifically stated otherwise. This way, even if the rogue’s player forgets to check for traps, the rogue herself will not, due to the SOP.

Lists can also be created to remind players about their options during certain tactical events, as well. In the heat of combat, it’s easy for a player to forget that a character has a certain type of resistance or a magic item that might be useful. One particularly well-organized player I once had kept SOP documents in a loose leaf notebook, with headings for separate types of foes and tactical situations, including facing elemental foes, undead, extraplanar beings, being surrounded by individually weaker foes,  the party being attacked from one flank or the other of the group’s standard marching order, and so forth. He also compiled lists of every magic item and spell the party had and how those items could complement each other, and provided every player in the group with this list, so that inactive players could remind acting players what their characters could do.

Although the bulk of time-saving is ultimately the dungeon master’s responsibility, players can do much to streamline the game as well. Do your players have any time-saving procedures not described here? If so, please consider descrbing them in a comment to this post.

38 comments on “How players can help streamline the D&D play experience

  1. Raolin says:

    As always a great article. Players should be just as busy as the DM. Not trying to loot mountain dew and cheetos out of the kitchen. (we all know the mountain dew should be in a cooler next to the table and the cheetos should be in a sack right next to the cooler.)

    Alric, Have you ever visited Play by Comment at http://playbycomment.wordpress.com/ ? These Guys have been playing a campaign since 2006. The DM (blog author) Sets the story and rolls the dice then writes down the outcomes as part of the blog. The Characters write their actions out in the comments block to be added to the next blog. It’s hard to explain unless you read it. It’s really quite brill.

  2. Alric says:

    Hey Rao,

    I have the same issues with Mountain Dew also. Must be a trait of the player species.

    Thanks for the tip about playbycomment – I’m heading over there now.

  3. Max.Elliott says:

    I like to make modular spell lists for casters that include spells for a given occurrence. Going to war the next day, with just a touch of hiding? Choose the “War” and “Stealth” lists. Each spell list is updated every level, and for a while I had a good set of ‘generic’ lists, sorted by caster level. I’d break that out then just augment the list with the unique spells for the current character. Almost every mage/cleric has a light spell, for example. Lost that binder though, shame. I really miss it.

  4. Philo Pharynx says:

    To comment on player note-taking. If the GM is making a detailed setting, and they players aren’t interested enough to remember it or note it themselves, there may be a disconnect between the style of the GM and the style of the players. If the players just want to get to killing things and the GM wants to detail every coner of the world, both sides will be frustrated.

    Another issue also comes up with this. Taking notes can slow down the game and there can be misunderstandings between the GM and player. Often, many subtle details are glossed over in the player’s notes in order to not slow down the game. As a player I also try to focus on what seems important, which means I might miss something that seems minor at the time. If there’s a lot of this, it’s probably best handled by out-of-game handouts or emails.

    • Alric says:

      Welcome, Philo, and thank you for reading my blog.

      Your points are well-taken. I’ve never really noticed it before, but I’ve always worked with players who were cut from the same stylistic cloth I am. I agree that forcing a style down the players’ throats is a recipe for disaster.

      And the idea about disseminating supplemental material via e-mail is a great way of providing player reference material without wasting a lot of play time.

      Thank you for your input. It makes the site better.

      Alric

      • khovaros says:

        I agree about the value of the e-mail to put out notes. I also try to print out my updates whenever possible so that at least one copy is at the gaming table for the players to reference.

        Repetition is also a good tool. Having NPCs (different NPCs when possible) keep referring to important game events will build their importance in the player’s minds and help them to remember.

        Great Blog. Tell Zin that Petronas says hi.

      • Alric says:

        Welcome, Khovaros – nice to see you here. Zin sends his regards. :-P

  5. [...] is precious: here’s how not to waste it Several weeks ago, the RPG Athenaeum published this post, which focused on ways that players could help streamline game play. When that post was published, [...]

  6. [...] Questioning captive heroes shouldn’t be much trouble for a DM, as he or she knows what the villains are doing and what the villain doesn’t know. Players, however, may not always know what to ask – they may not even plan on taking a prisoner until an enemy suddenly surrenders. One way for players to make full use of an interrogation opportunity is to create a list of questions to ask an enemy that has surrendered, in the manner described as “SOP Lists” in this post. [...]

  7. [...] Players can attempt combinations of field position, equipment, weapons, feats, powers, opportunity attacks, magic items and timing (through delaying actions and such) without fear of their characters dying in-game; as a result, players can and often do try outrageous  and/or convoluted plans. After all, there are no campaign consequences for success or failure. Particularly effective combinations should be documented for future reference, as described in the list-making section of this post; [...]

  8. d&d figures says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
    Many thanks for supplying this information.

  9. mine waste says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for
    me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  10. Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

  11. water damage says:

    It’s an awesome piece of writing designed for all the internet visitors; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  12. Francisco says:

    I am really happy to glance at this webpage posts which
    carries lots of valuable facts, thanks for providing these kinds of data.

  13. Mark says:

    Superb post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thanks!

  14. water damage says:

    It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  15. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  16. toilet bowl says:

    This is really interesting, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your
    feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your great post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  17. I do not leave a leave a response, but I read a few of the responses on How players can help streamline the D&D play experience The RPG Athenaeum.
    I do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or does it look like some of these responses look like they are written by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are writing on other sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list of the complete urls of your social networking pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  18. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage
    your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could
    look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  19. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us
    have developed some nice practices and we are looking
    to trade methods with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  20. William says:

    Hello there, You have done an excellent job.
    I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  21. I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and
    see if the problem still exists.

  22. What i do not realize is actually how you are no longer
    really a lot more smartly-appreciated than you might be now.
    You are so intelligent. You realize thus significantly in relation to
    this topic, produced me individually imagine it from a lot of numerous angles.
    Its like women and men aren’t involved except it’s one
    thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent.
    All the time care for it up!

  23. Valarie says:

    Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Kudos by Normand see my site Valarie

  24. Minnie says:

    Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite reason seemed to
    be on the net the simplest factor to take into account of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed even as other people think
    about worries that they plainly don’t understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the entire thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you by Adam see my site Minnie

  25. Fastidious answer back in return of this matter with firm arguments
    and describing all regarding that.

  26. water damage says:

    Your style is very unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just
    book mark this web site.

  27. Very good post. I’m experiencing a few of these issues as well..

  28. We are a group of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our
    community. Your web site offered us with helpful
    info to work on. You have performed a formidable process and our whole
    group might be thankful to you.

  29. toilet seat says:

    {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough for me.
    {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

  30. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a
    blogger, and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice practices
    and we are looking to exchange solutions with other folks, why not shoot me an
    email if interested.

  31. toilet paper says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please send me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

  32. toilet bowl says:

    I love what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

  33. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter
    updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  34. Hello there, I discovered your site by means of Google whilst looking for a similar subject, your site came up, it
    appears great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply changed into aware of your blog thru
    Google, and found that it is truly informative.

    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful
    in the event you continue this in future. Many
    other people shall be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

